Westonka Teacher of the Year Award

  • Westonka Education Minnesota is proud to present the Westonka Teacher of the Year program. Nominees for the annual award must meet the following criteria:

    • teach pre-kindergarten through 12th grade,
    • hold at least a bachelor's degree and a Minnesota teaching license,
    • have completed at least three full years of teaching by nomination deadline, and
    • intend to teach during the next school year.

2016-2017 Nominations Now Open!

  • Nominations for the 2017 Westonka Teacher of the Year Award are now open. Nominations must be submitted by Thursday, Nov. 3. The nomination form is digital and will only take a few moments to complete.

    Submit a Nomination

Teacher of the Year

Award History

  • 2016 Nominees and Winner
    Mindy Barrett - Hilltop Primary School
    *Sue Simonson - Mound Westonka High School
    Dena Spanjers - Shirley Hills Primary School
    Julie Thomas - Grandview Middle School

    2015 Nominees and Winner
    *Ali LaLonde - Grandview Middle School
    Karen Olaussen - Shirley Hills Primary School
    Craig Schmidt - Hilltop Primary School
    Sarah Morinville Smith - Mound Westonka High School