Return to Headlines

Students Receive $190K in Scholarships

Students Receive $190K in Scholarships

Click on the above image for more Scholarship Night pictures by Ann Baumann

May 14, 2019 — Mound Westonka High School hosted the annual Scholarship Awards Night on May 8, when 57 scholarships worth over $190,000 in scholarship money from 40 different donors were awarded to 49 members of the 2019 graduating class.

“It is so exciting to see this incredibly talented group of students be highlighted on one special night,” said Principal Mark McIlmoyle, who expressed his appreciation for this yearly tradition. “These students have excelled across the four As—Arts, Academics, Athletics and Activities—and they have done so with great humility.” 

The awards ceremony and social creates a connection between the scholarship donors and the senior award winners.  It is a unique opportunity for these two groups to meet and interact with one another.

Scholarships were awarded as follows:

Westonka District 277 Foundation Col. Brown Scholarship – Grace Elling, Sarah Jenkins, Lauren Lachenmayer, Leandra O’Connell and Homesh (Navin) Thakurdial; Warren Stickney Memorial Scholarship – Shane Stevenson; Spring Creek Scholarship for Arts & Humanities – Asha Martel; Northwest Tonka Lions Scholarship – Carsten Doepnerhove; YOST/Haddorff/Leopold Scholarship – Jennifer Schaible and Kristopher Kurtz; Thomas and Phyllis O’Malley Scholarship – Charles Reinhart; Westonka District 277 Foundation Bill Gillespie Memorial Scholarship – Ela Springer and Mara-Gomez Gonzalez; Northwest Tonka Lions Irv Stevenson Scholarship – Luke Rogers; Val Chabot Memorial Scholarship – Elizabeth Rice; Ridgeview Foundation Health Care Scholarship – Lauren Lachenmayer;

Westonka Jaycees Scholarship – Jonathan (JP) Oftedahl and Lauren Kelly; Crime Prevention Fund – Jack Dioszeghy and Allen Soley; Tyler Russell Hill Sunshine Scholarships - Science:​ Trevor Spurbeck, History:​ Grace Bowe, World Language:​ Maya Thurston, DECA:​ Lauren Kelly, Football:​ Samuel Dufault, Rugby/Hockey/Soccer: Sydney Bowe; Kyle D. Simonson Memorial Scholarship – Jonathon (JP) Oftedahl; Justin David Morris Memorial Scholarship – Nels Larson; Westonka Education Minnesota Teachers’ Union Scholarship – Maxwell Bortnem; Mound Westonka Rotary Scholarship – Lauren Lachenmayer; Mound Westonka Rotary Interact Scholarship – Grace Elling; Mary Esther Corl Memorial Scholarship – Iris Marohn;

Jeff Stevenson Memorial Academic/Athletic Scholarship – Ben Schmalz; John Rasmussen Memorial Scholarship – Ethan Fetters Vandenheuvel; Brian Chase Memorial Scholarship – Luke Rogers; MWHS National Honor Society Scholarship Charles Reinhardt, Taylor Smith and Samantha Kline; Mound Masonic Lodge #320 Scholarship – Linnea Week; Triple ‘A’ (Academics, Athletics, Activities) Scholarship – Andrew Abegglen; American Legion Auxiliary Unit #398 Scholarship – Madelyn White and Carter Phillips; Class of 1967 Scholarship – Mara Gomez-Gonzalez; Sue Riley Memorial Scholarship – Thomas Miller; Orono-Westonka Soccer Club Scholarship – Daniel Ayaz; Mound Fire Department Auxiliary Scholarship – Camille Hill;

Westonka Administrators Scholarship – Ellie Skogsberg; Robert Photography Scholarship – Alyson Sveeggen; MWHS Student Senate Scholarship – Alexandra Kline and Jonathan (JP) Oftedahl; Knights of Columbus Mound Council 6005 Scholarship – Melissa Christlieb and Abbey Sletten; Minnesota Lakes Bank Scholarship – Hannah Wells; Wiser Insurance Agency Scholarship – Ethan James; Fred Hanley Memorial Scholarship – Samuel Kerr; Marty Gilbertson Educational Office Employees Scholarship – Jacob Berg; Jon Scherven Memorial Scholarship – Kennedy Murphy; MWHS Cross Country Scholarship – Kade Retterath.

“We are grateful for the incredible generosity of our local community and we appreciate those donors that have maintained a connection to MWHS despite being spread out across the country,” said McIlmoyle. “Recipients understand the responsibility that comes with receiving these generous scholarships and I have no doubt, they will rise to the challenge, recognize the generosity they have received and give back to their community one day.”